In this post, I summarize the AWS Well-Architected Framework developed by AWS to describe the best practices that customers can utilize as a guide when designing and deploying cloud architectures!

The framework comprises of five pillars.

  • Security
  • Reliability
  • Cost Optimization
  • Performance Efficiency
  • Operational Excellence


The security pillar describes the capability to protect information and implementing appropriate mitigating controls such as the principle of least privilege, enabling traceability and protecting both data in transit and at rest.


The reliability pillar focuses on architecting cloud infrastructure that is fault-tolerant, redundant and highly available.

 Cost Optimization

One of the advantages of moving to the cloud is to leverage the concept of pay-as-you-go, therefore, it is understandable that one of the five pillars focuses on ensuring that costs for deployed resources are fully understood.

 Performance Efficiency

The performance efficiency pillar focuses on ensuring that computing resources are utilized efficiently throughout the lifetime of the deployed architecture.

 Operational Excellence

The operational excellence pillar describes the ability to run and monitor cloud architectures to deliver business value while improving the supporting processes and procedures.